The Weekly Recap

Incoming

A Court of Mist & Fury (purchased)
Bright Smoke, Cold Fire (review copy – Edelweiss)
Of Fire & Stars (review copy – Edelweiss)
The Butterfly Garden (Kindle First)

Total spend: £3.99

My Week

This week has been busy but great! I went to the gym three times, went out for dinner with friends, started my TV Tournament (which is so much fun!), and finished both A Court of Thorns & Roses and Summer Knight.  Next week is another busy one, with quite a lot of hours at work, an interview about possible volunteering, at least three gym sessions, some more TV for the TV tournament, and organising a weight loss competition amongst my family because we’re all need of some motivation!  Around all of that I’m hoping to get A Court of Mist & Fury finished because I can’t wait to see what happens, as well as start a new audiobook, though I’m not sure what yet.  Busy bee, but the good kind of busy, so I’m mostly looking forward to everything!

Finished: Summer Knight, A Court of Thorns & Roses

Currently Reading: A Court of Mist & Fury

How was your week?

Review: A Court of Thorns & Roses

Review: A Court of Thorns & RosesA Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas
Series: A Court of Thorns & Roses #1
on May 5th 2015
Genres: Fantasy, Love & Romance, Young Adult
Pages: 416
Format: Paperback
Source: Purchased
Goodreads
One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

A thrilling, seductive new series from New York Times bestselling author Sarah J. Maas, blending Beauty and the Beast with faerie lore.
When nineteen-year-old huntress Feyre kills a wolf in the woods, a beast-like creature arrives to demand retribution for it. Dragged to a treacherous magical land she only knows about from legends, Feyre discovers that her captor is not an animal, but Tamlin—one of the lethal, immortal faeries who once ruled their world.
As she dwells on his estate, her feelings for Tamlin transform from icy hostility into a fiery passion that burns through every lie and warning she's been told about the beautiful, dangerous world of the Fae. But an ancient, wicked shadow grows over the faerie lands, and Feyre must find a way to stop it... or doom Tamlin—and his world—forever.
Perfect for fans of Kristin Cashore and George R. R. Martin, this first book in a sexy and action-packed new series is impossible to put down!

When I read it…

I read this between May 12th and 20th 2016.

What I’d heard before I read it:

Quite a lot of good things, but despite that – and despite the fact I love Maas’ Throne of Glass series – the romance and the faeries just didn’t really appeal to me.  After hearing even better things about the second book, I figured it was time to finally give it a chance!

What worked for me:

  • Feyre: Feyre is not an all-knowing, all-powerful, filled-with-magical-abilities kind of girl.  She’s got some skills certainly, but aside from her painting skills which seem innate, her independence and capabilities come from perserverance and desperation.  That makes her easy to like and easy to relate to.
  • The supporting characters: I really loved some of the minor characters in A Court of Thorns and Roses – I especially liked Lucien and Alis, both of whom I clicked with very quickly.
  • The steaminess: A Court of Thorns and Roses was steamy, which I was not at all expecting but totally didn’t mind.  I love the fact that a YA book has sex, including casual sex, and that it wasn’t portrayed as this huge big deal.  That isn’t something I’ve come across in a lot of books, particularly YA, and it made for a refreshing change.

What didn’t quite work for me:

  • The romance: It might seem like this book – which seems so romance-focused from the blurb – wouldn’t work if you don’t totally adore the romance, but strangely I didn’t find that.  I liked the romance, I thought it was plausible, and I definitely thought there was chemistry… I just didn’t feel like it was the only possible outcome.  For me, someone who so often loves fanon couples over canon couples, this was absolutely not a problem, just means more fun shipping possibilities until later books hopefully help me decide on my ultimate favourite pairing!
  • The villain: Villains are super important to me, and I just wasn’t 100% sold on the villains in A Court of Thorns & Roses.  I didn’t hate them or find them totally unbelievable or anything, so it wasn’t a dealbreaker, just a minor frustration.

I ended up enjoying A Court of Thorns & Roses a lot more than I anticipated. I found it dramatic, gripping, full of steamy romance, unexpected twists and an exciting cast of characters.  The series hasn’t become an instant favourite, but it was certainly addictive enough that I’ll be picking up the second book as soon as possible!

Other reviews of A Court of Thorns & Roses: Lunar Rainbows | YA Midnight Reads | Confessions of a Book Addict

One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

TV Tournament (1)

TV tournament is a new fortnightly feature here at Geeky Zoo Girl.  Since I was on the hunt for a new TV show to watch, I asked you for recommendations.  I’m now working through those recommendations and pitting the shows against each other!

So, the voting is closed and I’ve now got 16 TV shows recommended by you guys.  I’ve tried to divide those up into vaguely matching pairs, and the final tournament brackets can be seen below.  I’ve (roughly speaking) divided them into contemporary (left hand side) and SFF (right hand side).

The rules I’ll be sticking to:

  • Each round will last for 2 weeks.
  • Within each round, I will watch at least 3 episodes of each show, ideally more.
  • Every other Wednesday I will update with my feelings on episodes watched, and which show was eliminated.  [Alternatively, if I have lots of comments/you guys prefer, I may do a weekly update with mini-reviews and then a fortnightly elimination update.]
  • If I can’t make a decision within that two weeks, the round may continue running alongside the next show, but only until that stage ends (i.e. all quarter-finals decisions must be made before semi-finals and so on).
  • If I really hate a show: I have 2 back up shows (1 for the left hand half of the board, 1 for the right) – if these are used, it must be in the initial round, before the quarter finals.
  • Between levels (after rounds 1-8, after the quarter-finals, after semi-finals), there may be a break of no more than two weeks if needed to catch up!

TV Tournament

TV Tournament Brackets in my bullet journal!

In case you can’t see the image, the rounds are:

Grey’s Anatomy v Hart of Dixie
Pretty Little Liars v Friday Night Lights
New Girl v How I Met Your Mother
Homeland v Sons of Anarchy

The Flash v Arrow
Gotham v Supernatural
iZombie v The Walking Dead
Agent Carter v Supergirl

For round 1, thanks to random number magic, I will be starting with Grey’s Anatomy and Hart of Dixie.  Pop back in two weeks for my thoughts so far!

The Weekly Recap

Incoming


Blame (from the publisher)
The Lost Hero (borrowed)
Summer Knight (purchased)
Death Masks (purchased)

Total spend: 2 audible credits

My Week

Wow, where did this week go?!  This week I had a few gym sessions, a Eurovision party, a date with the other half and two job applications so things were pretty busy.  That meant I didn’t get nearly as much reading done as I wanted to for Bout of Books but I did get Grave Peril finished on audio and I also finished Percy Jackson and the Last Olympian.

Honestly I haven’t even thought as far ahead as plans for next week or what I’ll be reading, it’ll be just made up as I go along really!

Finished: Grave Peril, Percy Jackson & The Last Olympian

Currently Reading: Summer Knight, A Court of Thorns & Roses

How was your week?

Looking Ahead: May 2016

What’s on in May?

So er, as you might have guessed from the fact this isn’t going up until nearly the middle of May, May is a bit of a busy month!  There’s not really any one particular thing that’s been cutting into reading and blogging time, just a combination of work and the lighter evenings meaning more on in the evenings really!

Last month’s TBR list

The Raven King | Completed
Armada
| Completed
Traitor Angels | Not started
Ruined | Completed
Assassin’s Heart| Completed
Countdown | Not Started
Running with Rhinos | Completed
The Wicked We Have Done | Not started
+ The Winner of the April TBR poll (Shiver) | Started

Unplanned

Attack on Titan: Before the Fall 1 | Completed
Attack on Titan: Before the Fall 2| Completed
Attack on Titan: Before the Fall 3 | Completed
Attack on Titan: Before the Fall 4 | Completed
Attack on Titan: Before the Fall 5| Completed

May’s TBR list

Linger | Borrowed
Grave Peril
| From my (audiobook) shelves
Summer Knight | From my (audiobook) shelves
Percy Jackson & The Last Olympian | Borrowed
A Court of Thorns & Roses | Purchased
The Lost Hero | Borrowed
And I Darken | From the Publisher

I’m trying to concentrate mostly on series this month.  I’m working through the the Dresden Files on audio and borrowing both the Wolves of Mercy Falls & the Rick Riordan books.  I also finally got around to buying A Court of Thorns and Roses so I’m hoping to get that finished this month too.  I’m also possibly hoping to get to And I Darken before it comes out next month, though I’m not sure I’ll make it!

What do you have planned for May?