Review: A Court of Thorns & Roses

Review: A Court of Thorns & RosesA Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas
Series: A Court of Thorns & Roses #1
on May 5th 2015
Genres: Fantasy, Love & Romance, Young Adult
Pages: 416
Format: Paperback
Source: Purchased
Goodreads

A thrilling, seductive new series from New York Times bestselling author Sarah J. Maas, blending Beauty and the Beast with faerie lore.
When nineteen-year-old huntress Feyre kills a wolf in the woods, a beast-like creature arrives to demand retribution for it. Dragged to a treacherous magical land she only knows about from legends, Feyre discovers that her captor is not an animal, but Tamlin—one of the lethal, immortal faeries who once ruled their world.
As she dwells on his estate, her feelings for Tamlin transform from icy hostility into a fiery passion that burns through every lie and warning she's been told about the beautiful, dangerous world of the Fae. But an ancient, wicked shadow grows over the faerie lands, and Feyre must find a way to stop it... or doom Tamlin—and his world—forever.
Perfect for fans of Kristin Cashore and George R. R. Martin, this first book in a sexy and action-packed new series is impossible to put down!

When I read it…

I read this between May 12th and 20th 2016.

What I’d heard before I read it:

Quite a lot of good things, but despite that – and despite the fact I love Maas’ Throne of Glass series – the romance and the faeries just didn’t really appeal to me.  After hearing even better things about the second book, I figured it was time to finally give it a chance!

What worked for me:

  • Feyre: Feyre is not an all-knowing, all-powerful, filled-with-magical-abilities kind of girl.  She’s got some skills certainly, but aside from her painting skills which seem innate, her independence and capabilities come from perserverance and desperation.  That makes her easy to like and easy to relate to.
  • The supporting characters: I really loved some of the minor characters in A Court of Thorns and Roses – I especially liked Lucien and Alis, both of whom I clicked with very quickly.
  • The steaminess: A Court of Thorns and Roses was steamy, which I was not at all expecting but totally didn’t mind.  I love the fact that a YA book has sex, including casual sex, and that it wasn’t portrayed as this huge big deal.  That isn’t something I’ve come across in a lot of books, particularly YA, and it made for a refreshing change.

What didn’t quite work for me:

  • The romance: It might seem like this book – which seems so romance-focused from the blurb – wouldn’t work if you don’t totally adore the romance, but strangely I didn’t find that.  I liked the romance, I thought it was plausible, and I definitely thought there was chemistry… I just didn’t feel like it was the only possible outcome.  For me, someone who so often loves fanon couples over canon couples, this was absolutely not a problem, just means more fun shipping possibilities until later books hopefully help me decide on my ultimate favourite pairing!
  • The villain: Villains are super important to me, and I just wasn’t 100% sold on the villains in A Court of Thorns & Roses.  I didn’t hate them or find them totally unbelievable or anything, so it wasn’t a dealbreaker, just a minor frustration.

I ended up enjoying A Court of Thorns & Roses a lot more than I anticipated. I found it dramatic, gripping, full of steamy romance, unexpected twists and an exciting cast of characters.  The series hasn’t become an instant favourite, but it was certainly addictive enough that I’ll be picking up the second book as soon as possible!

Other reviews of A Court of Thorns & Roses: Lunar Rainbows | YA Midnight Reads | Confessions of a Book Addict

One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

One thought on “Review: A Court of Thorns & Roses

  1. YAY! I’ve been looking forward to reading your thoughts on ACOTAR Faith! Looks like we had fairly similar impressions about this one – which makes me all the more excited to see what you make of ACOMAF. People seem to either love the new direction or hate it but from what you said here^^ I think you’ll feel more or less like I did about it 🙂 Feyre is such a great character and the world was just so beautifully crafted…and it’ll only get better 😀 Lovely review my friend and let me know when you pick up ACOMAF 😉
    Micheline @ Lunar Rainbows Reviews recently posted…Review: A Court of Mist and FuryMy Profile

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

CommentLuv badge